

Fellows Elected April 2019

Honorary Fellow

Professor Sir Stephen O'Rahilly FRS FRCP FRCP FRCPath FMedSci FRSB MRIA HonFLSW

Professor of Clinical Biochemistry and Medicine, University of Cambridge

Fellows

Professor Gert Aarts FLSW

Professor of Physics, Swansea University

Professor Peter Atkinson MBA FRGS FRSS FRSPSoc FLSW

Dean of the Faculty of Science and Technology, Lancaster University

Professor Arnold Beckmann FLSW

Professor of Computer Science, Swansea University

Professor Davide Bonifazi FLSW

Professor of Organic Supramolecular Chemistry, Cardiff University

Dame Hilary Boulding DBE FLSW

President of Trinity College, University of Oxford

Professor Michael Davies CEng FICE FGS FEngNZ FRSE FLSW

Research Professor, University of Sussex

Dr Mererid Puw Davies FLSW

Head of Department of German, University College London

Dr Russell Davies FLSW

Historian and Author, Independent Scholar

Professor Samuel Evans FICE MIMMM FLSW

Head of School of Engineering, Cardiff
University

Professor Stephen Evans FLSW

Director of Research, Institute for Manufacturing, Department of Engineering, University of Cambridge

Professor Hywel Francis FRHistS FLSW

Professor Emeritus and Strategic Advisor on Archives, Regional Policy and Widening Access, Swansea University

Professor Alun Guwy FLSW

Professor of Energy and Environment and Head of the Sustainable Environment Research Centre, University of South Wales

Professor Peter Halligan DSc FBPS FPS CPsychol FMedSci FRSB FLSW

Chief Scientific Adviser for Wales, Welsh Government

Professor Matthew Jarvis FLSW

Professor in the Faculty of Humanities and Performing Arts and Anthony Dyson Fellow in Poetry, University of Wales Trinity Saint David; Professorial Fellow in Literature and Place, Department of English & Creative Writing, Aberystwyth University

Professor Simon Jones FRSB FLSW

Dean of Research and Professor of Inflammation Biology, Cardiff University

Professor Venkateswarlu Kanamarlapudi DSc FRSB FRSC FABAP FLSW

Professor of Molecular Cell Biology and Pharmacology in Swansea Medical School, Swansea University

Professor Hilary Lappin-Scott OBE FLSW

Senior Pro Vice Chancellor, Swansea University

Professor Sophie Gilliat-Ray FLSW

Professor in Religious and Theological Studies and Director for the Centre for the Study of Islam in the UK (Islam-UK), School of History, Archaeology and Religion, Cardiff University

Dr Robin Gwyndaf FSA FLSW

Honorary Research Fellow, St Fagans National Museum of History

Dr Stanley Hughes FLSW

Retired: formerly Honorary Research Associate at Easter Cereal and Oilseed Research Centre, University of Wales

Professor Ann John FLSW

Professor of Public Health and Psychiatry; Deputy Head, Swansea Medical School, Swansea University

Dr Hywel Ceri Jones FLSW

Retired: formerly Director General of the European Commission's Directorate General for Employment, Social Policy and Industrial Relations

Ms Helgard Krause FLSW

Chief Executive Officer, Welsh Books Council

Professor Malcolm Mason OBE MD FRCR FRCP FRSB FLSW

Professor of Cancer Studies, Cardiff University

Professor Paul Meredith FLSW

Research Chair, Professor of Physics, Swansea University

Professor Peter Midmore FRSA FLSW

Professor of Economics, Aberystwyth University

Professor Paul Milbourne FAcSS FRGS FLSW

Professor of Geography and Head of the School of Geography and Planning, Cardiff University

Professor Hywel Morgan FinstP FRSC FIET FLSW

Professor of Bioelectronics, University of Southampton

Professor Bernhard Moser FLSW

Professor, Chair in Infection and Immunity,
Cardiff University

Dr Helen Ougham FLSW

Retired: Honorary Reader in Institute of Biological, Environmental and Rural Studies, Aberystwyth University

Professor Stuart Palmer DSc CPhys FInstP FREng FLSW

Chair of Council, Cardiff University; Trustee
Director of Universities Superannuation
Scheme, Cardiff University

Professor Ann Parry Owen FLSW

Research Fellow and Project Leader, University of Wales Centre for Advanced Welsh and Celtic Studies

Professor Julian Preece FLSW

Professor of German, Swansea University

Professor Philip Prewett CPhys FInstP FRSA FLSW

Emeritus Professor of Nanotechnology, University of Birmingham; CEO, Oxford Scientific Consultants Ltd; CEO, Oxford MicroMedical Ltd

Professor Nigel Rapport FRSE FRSA FLSW

Professor of Anthropological and Philosophical Studies, University of St Andrews

Dr Hugh Rawlings CB FLSW

Director of Constitutional Affairs and Intergovernmental Relations, Welsh Government

Professor Gareth Roberts FRS FLSW

Professor of Statistics, University of Warwick

Mrs Sally Roberts Jones FLSW

Retired: formerly Royal Literary Fund Writing Fellow, Swansea University

Professor Phillip Schofield FRHistS FASSC FLSW

Professor of Medieval History and Head of Department of History and Welsh History, Aberystwyth University

Professor Patricia Skinner FRHistS FLSW

Personal Chair in History, Swansea University

Professor Elan Closs Stephens CBE FRSA FLSW

Non-Executive Director of the BBC and Member for Wales, BBC Board, BBC

Professor Mark Thomas FRSC FLSW

Professor of Carbon Science, Newcastle University

Dr Johanna Waters FLSW

Reader in Human Geography and Migration Studies, University College London

Professor Ian Weeks DSc CChem FRSC FRCPath FLSW

Dean of Clincial Innovation, Cardiff University

Professor Susan Wong FRCP FLSW

Professor of Experimental Diabetes and Metabolism; Honorary Consultant Physician in Diabetes, Cardiff University

Professor Stuart Woodhead FRCPath MRCPath FLSW

Director, Invitron Limited

Professor David Wyn Jones FLSW

Professor of Musicology, Cardiff University

Sir Emyr Jones Parry GCMG FInstP PLSW

President

Emy James Pary

Martin Pollard
Chief Executive

Martin Pollard