Enillwyr Medalau Newydd Cymdeithas Ddysgedig Cymru yn datgelu diwylliant ymchwil cyffrous Cymru

The Learned Society of Wales has announced the names of its 2022 medallists. 

The medals are awarded each year to celebrate the outstanding research that comes from Wales. 

Medal Ceremony 2022

This year’s recipients are: 
Professor Kenneth Morgan: The Menelaus Medal 

The Menelaus Medal celebrates excellence in engineering. 

Kenneth Morgan is a Professor at Swansea University. He has worked for many decades on developing computer models for engineering analysis. This has had particular impact on the way in which aerospace industries use computer simulation for design and analysis. More information about Professor Morgan’s research.

More about the Menelaus Medal

Professor Ann John: The Frances Hoggan Medal 

The Frances Hoggan Medal celebrates outstanding research by women in STEMM. 

Professor John’s research focuses on mental health and prevention of suicide and self-harm; her regular media work is influential in shaping the way suicide is depicted. Professor John, who works at Swansea University, also provided scientific advice on governmental bodies during the Covid pandemic. More information about Professor John’s research.

More about the Frances Hoggan Medal

Professor David James: The Hugh Owen Medal 

Celebrating outstanding educational research in Wales. 

Professor James, Professor of Sociology of Education at Cardiff University, receives the Hugh Owen medal for educational  

research and capacity development. Work on teacher education, vocational further education and FE governance has seen him play important roles in government policy development. More information about Professor James’ research.

More about the Hugh Owen Medal.

The Dillwyn Medals 

Celebrating outstanding early career researchers in Wales. 

  • Professor Erminia Calabrese (Sciences, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics and Medicine) 

Professor Calabrese works in the field of observational cosmology at Cardiff University. She has made major contributions to the establishment of the current cosmological model, exploring the physics that drove the earliest moments of our universe using the Cosmic Microwave Background (CMB) radiation left over from the Big Bang. More information about Professor Calabrese’s research.

  • Dr. Sharon Thompson (Humanities and Creative Arts) 

Dr. Thompson, Reader in Law at Cardiff University, has an international reputation in the fields of Family Law, Feminist Legal Theory and Legal History and is renowned for her work on prenuptial agreements and the Married Women’s Association. She is a regular media contributor, recently including BBC Radio 4 Woman’s Hour, as well as a legal adviser to Welsh TV series Pobol y Cwm. More information about Dr. Thompson’s research

  • Dr. Hayley Young (Social Sciences, Education and Business) 

Dr. Young is Associate Professor at Swansea University. Her research explores the development of functional foods that aid both mood and cognition, with implications for how children learn and how memory is affected we age. Her advice is sought by authorities in Wales and around the world. More information about Dr. Young’s work.

More about the Dillwyn Medals.