Yr Athro Ralph A. Griffiths: Derek Allen Prize

Llongyfarchiadau i’r Athro Ralph A. Griffiths FLSW.

Professor Ralph A. Griffiths is awarded the 2021 Derek Allen Prize for his outstanding contribution to the field of the late medieval history of Wales and England.

Ralph A. Griffiths is Emeritus Professor of Medieval History at Swansea University, where he has spent his academic career, becoming Professor of Medieval History from 1982 to 2002. He studied at the University of Bristol, graduating with PhD in late medieval history in 1963; he was awarded DLitt in 1983. He taught medieval British and European history at Swansea from 1964; from 1990 to 2002 he was Dean of Admissions and from 1998 to 2002 Pro-Vice-Chancellor. A member of the Royal Commission on the Ancient and Historical Monuments of Wales from 1990, he became its chair from 1999 to 2009. He served on the Lord Chancellor’s Advisory Committee on Public Records, and on the Council of the Royal Historical Society, where he was vice-president from 1992 to 1996 and, since 2003, Honorary Vice-President. Fellow of the Royal Historical Society (1966) and Fellow of the Learned Society of Wales (2011), he was elected Honorary Fellow of the Institute of Historical Research, University of London (2005) and Honorary Fellow of the Historical Association (2011). He was appointed OBE in 2005.

Derek Allen Prize | The British Academy